(SANFORD, Fla.) On Friday, February 7th, Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) named its 2021 Teacher of the Year, Mr. William Furiosi of Oviedo High School! As part of this prestigious award, Mr. Furiosi will receive a Teacher of the Year ring from Herff Jones, a Disney Annual Pass for himself and each member of his immediate family, and $1,000 from the Foundation for SCPS. Plus, a 1-year lease to a new car courtesy of Carl Black Chevrolet/Buick/GMC. In addition, he will go on to represent Seminole County in the state Teacher of the Year competition.

Bio: Mr. Furiosi has been teaching Science at Oviedo High School for seven years.  He helped revive both Experimental Science and AP Biology at Oviedo High School.  In addition, Mr. Furiosi has created such a positive experience and notoriety amongst campus that students now flock to his course in preparation for a STEM career path for their future careers as doctors, engineers, and scientists.

Special thanks to this year’s Presenting sponsor: Addition Financial, our Golden Apple sponsors: The Walt Disney Company, Duke Energy, Hylant, SCPS Wellness, Scholastic Book Fairs, and our Red Apple sponsors: Cigna, Carl Black Orlando and Wharton-Smith, Inc. Our Table sponsors: UnitedHealthcare, Mathnasium, Citizens Bank of Florida and Seminole State College. Our Supporting sponsors: CareSpot Urgent Care, Matern Professional Engineering and SchenkelShultz Architecture. Plus, our Media sponsors: Lake Mary Life Publishing and Leonard’s Photography and our Master of Ceremonies, Kirstin O’Connor and Justin Warmoth, WKMG News 6 Orlando.

Foundation for Seminole County Public Schools:

The Foundation is a direct support organization to Seminole County Public Schools that serves to fund innovation in learning that normally wouldn’t be paid for with public funds. Since inception, The Foundation has raised more than $20 million to help ensure that today’s students become tomorrow’s productive members of society. The Foundation funds and/or manages approximately 35 programs that align with our three priorities: 1.) Addressing issues that inhibit a student’s opportunity to receive a quality education; 2.) Programs that enhance the learning environment and improve student performance; and 3.) Professional education and acknowledgement to help sustain our high-performing and Premier National School District. For more information, visit: or call 407.320.0176.

SCPS Superintendent Dr. Walt Griffin, School Board Member Abby Sanchez, School Board Vice-Chair Amy Pennock, Mr. William Furiosi, School Board Chair Karen Almond, School Board Member Dr. Tina Calderone, and School Board Member Kristine Kraus

Press Contact

Katherine Crnkovich, APR, CPRC
Communications Officer