2024 SCPS Teacher of the Year Announced

2024 SCPS Teacher of the Year Announced
Posted on 02/13/2023

Seminole County Public Schools Names District Teacher of the Year Who Will Compete at the State Level

For Immediate Release: February 13, 2023
Media Contact: Katherine Crnkovich, APR, CPRC
[email protected]

SANFORD, FL: On Friday, February 10th, Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) named its 2024 Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Janan Hodges, a third-grade teacher, and team leader at Spring Lake Elementary School where she has taught for the past 4 years of her 16 years in the classroom.

In addition to her instructional and teacher-leader responsibilities, Mrs. Hodges currently serves as the school’s New Educator Support Team (NEST) lead teacher to assist all new teachers at Spring Lake. She also serves as an individual mentor teacher for others who wish to hone their skills and develop deeper connections with their students.

Mrs. Hodges is truly one of a kind. From her engaging and innovative lessons to her creativity in cultivating classroom rules using Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson, Mrs. Hodges fosters an environment that centers on achievement, high expectations and belonging. She is known for her unique ability to connect deeply with her students and provide learning opportunities that meet their specific needs. She spends many hours developing lessons plans that are tailored for each child to achieve their best academically and to develop resiliency skills that will benefit them long after they leave Spring Lake Elementary School.

We are proud to have Mrs. Janan Hodges move onto the State of Florida Teacher of the Year competition as Seminole County’s representative.

Special thanks to the following sponsors and community supporters who make our Teacher of the Year event possible:

Presenting Sponsor: Addition Financial

Golden Apple Sponsors: Advent Health, Cigna, Hylant, SCPS Wellness

District Event Sponsors: Corebridge Financial, Duke Energy, Equitable, FPL, Seacoast Bank

Red Apple Sponsors: Seminole Education Association (SEA), Simply IOA

Supporting Sponsors: Matern, United Healthcare

Community Partners: Herff Jones, Leonard’s Photography, SASA, SCPS Community Involvement, SCPS Teddy Gram Direct, Subaru, Universal Studios Orlando Foundation, The Foundation for Seminole County Public Schools

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.