(Sanford, FL) – Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) is excited to announce that it has received a $15 million Magnet Schools Assistance Program (MSAP) Grant.  The award will be paid out over five years with the district receiving approximately $6.2 million in year one.  These funds will allow SCPS to implement ePathways for Elementary Schools:  Small Steps to Big Careers, a project that establishes three new magnet schools.

Utilizing a transdisciplinary approach, students will engage in learning infused with the following themes:

Idyllwilde Elementary – Future Ready Academy:  (International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme, IB PYP/College & Career Readiness)

Pine Crest Elementary School of Innovation:  (Computer Science/Code to the Future)

Wicklow Elementary School for Global Pathways:  (International Baccalaureate Primary Years Programme, IB PYP/Global Competency & World Language Acquisition)

Through this project, the schools will introduce innovative educational practices to ensure effective instruction that allows students to meet high academic standards and master a rigorous curriculum.

“This is tremendous news for our district!  We couldn’t be more excited for what this will mean for our students, families and community.  This grant will go a long way towards transforming and increasing educational opportunities at these schools and across the district” said Dr. Walt Griffin, Superintendent, SCPS.

“Building on our track-record of magnet school success, this grant is going to allow us to expand these unique programs to our students to create three more world-class schools within the district” said Amy Lockhart, School Board Chair, SCPS.

In total, the MSAP has awarded 32 grants for fiscal year 2017.  These awards total approximately $91.7 million and are spread across 16 states.  Local education agencies (LEAs) receive funding for up to five years to implement programming that supports the development and implementation of magnet schools that increase racial integration and promote academic opportunity and excellence.  For a full listing of 2017 award recipients, visit:


Press Contact

Michael Lawrence, APR
Communications Officer