(SANFORD, Fla.) On Friday, February 5th, Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) named its 2022 Teacher of the Year, Mr. Clayton Donnan of Crooms High School! As part of this prestigious award, Mr. Donnan will receive a Teacher of the Year ring from Herff Jones, a Disney Passes for himself and each member of his immediate family, and $1,000 from the Foundation for SCPS. In addition, he will go on to represent Seminole County in the state Teacher of the Year competition.

 Bio: Mr. Donnan is serving in his 17th year teaching, all at the Crooms Academy of Information Technology. Mr. Donnan teaches Game and Simulation Design, as well as the Steel Ensemble, and serves as the Technology Department Curriculum Leader. Additionally, he also manages CroomsCon, a social gaming event for students across Florida that has raised more than $57,000 to benefit the Arnold Palmer Children’s Hospital in Orlando.

 Special thanks to this year’s Presenting sponsor: Addition Financial, our Golden Apple sponsors: The Walt Disney Company, Hylant, SCPS Wellness, Cigna, and our Red Apple sponsors: Wharton Smith, IOA, Duke Energy. Our Supporting sponsors: Citizen’s Bank of Florida, Matern Professional Engineering, Seminole State College, UHC, Schenkel-Shultz, and Florida Gulf Coast University. Our Media sponsors: Lake Mary Life Publishing.

 Foundation for Seminole County Public Schools:

The Foundation is a direct support organization to Seminole County Public Schools that serves to fund innovation in learning that normally wouldn’t be paid for with public funds. Since inception, The Foundation has raised more than $20 million to help ensure that today’s students become tomorrow’s productive members of society. The Foundation funds and/or manages approximately 35 programs that align with our three priorities: 1.) Addressing issues that inhibit a student’s opportunity to receive a quality education; 2.) Programs that enhance the learning environment and improve student performance; and 3.) Professional education and acknowledgement to help sustain our high-performing and Premier National School District. For more information, visit: or call 407.320.0176.

Press Contact

Michael Lawrence, APR
Communications Officer