(Sanford, FL)  Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) is proud to announce that two of our very own students are the 2017 Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar Award winners for Florida.  They are Elizabeth Handberg from Hagerty High School and Dhruv Dadhania from Lake Mary High School.  Elizabeth currently attends the University of Florida while Dhruv now attends Duke University.

The State AP Scholar Awards are granted to one male and one female student in each U.S. state and the District of Columbia with scores of 3 or higher on the greatest number of AP Exams, and the highest average score (at least 3.5) on all AP Exams taken.  This is the 27th annual celebration of State AP Scholars.

“It’s truly remarkable and a testament to the quality education provided here in Seminole County that we have both 2017 AP Scholar Award Recipients represented in our district!  This is an amazing honor for these students and we’re extremely proud of their hard work and success.  Their future is very bright!” said Dr. Walt Griffin, Superintendent, Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS).

About the AP Program:

The College Board’s AP program enables willing and academically prepared students to pursue college-level studies – with the opportunity to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both – while still in high school. 

Through AP courses in 38 subjects, each culminating in a challenging exam, students learn to think critically, construct solid arguments, and see many sides of an issue – skills that prepare them for college and beyond.  Research indicates that students who score a 3 or higher on an AP Exam typically experience greater academic success in college and are more likely to earn a college degree than non-AP students.

For additional support and information, please contact the College Board Communications office at (212) 713-8052 or

Press Contact

Michael Lawrence, APR
Communications Officer