Title IX/Educational Equity

Home | District | Departments | Human Resources | Title IX/Educational Equity

2021-22 Seminole County Public Schools Educational Equity Act Plan (pdf)

The Superintendent shall appoint a compliance officer whose responsibility it will be to require that Federal and State regulations are complied with and that any inquiries or complaints are dealt with promptly in accordance with law. The Superintendent shall also require that proper notice of nondiscrimination for Title II, Title VI, and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendment Act of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and the Age Discrimination in Employment Act. 

Compliance Officer 

The following person is designated as the Compliance Officer (CO): 
Ryan Dufrain 
Coordinator Human Resources/District Equity Administrator 
407-320-0317 
400 East Lake Mary Boulevard 
Sanford, Florida  32773 

ryan_dufrain@scps.k12.fl.us


The School Board does not discriminate on the basis of sex (including sexual orientation or gender identity), in its education programs or activities, and is required by Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972, and its implementing regulations, not to discriminate in such a manner. The requirement not to discriminate in its education program or activity extends to admission and employment. The Board is committed to maintaining an education and work environment that is free from discrimination based on sex, including sexual harassment.

The Board prohibits Sexual Harassment that occurs within its education programs and activities. When the District has actual knowledge of Sexual Harassment in its education program or activity against a person in the United States, it shall promptly respond in a manner that is not deliberately indifferent.

Pursuant to its Title IX obligations, the Board is committed to eliminating Sexual Harassment and will take appropriate action when an individual is determined responsible for violating this policy. Board employees, students, third-party vendors and contractors, guests, and other members of the School District community who commit Sexual Harassment are subject to the full range of disciplinary sanctions set forth in this policy. The Board will provide persons who have experienced Sexual Harassment ongoing remedies as reasonably necessary to restore or preserve access to the District’s education programs and activities.

Reporting TITLE IX

Title IX Coordinators

SCPS District Title IX Coordinators (pdf)

Trainings

Title IX Basics: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k12-title-ix-basics/

Title IX Investigator / Decision-Maker Level 1: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for- review-k12-title-ix-investigator-decision-maker-level-1/

Title IX Coordinator: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-title-ix-coordinator/

Title IX Decision-Maker Appeals: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k12-title-ix- appellate-decision-makers/

Title IX Informal Resolution: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-title-ix- informal-resolution/

Title IX Athletics: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-title-ix-athletics/

Title IX Putting Policy Into Practice Series: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review- putting-policy-into-practice-k-12/

2021 Coordinator Refresher and Update Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-2021-coordinator-refresher/

2021 Investigator Refresher and Update Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for- review-k-12-2021-investigator-refresher/

2021 Decision-Maker Refresher and Update Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-2021-decision-maker-refresher/

Parallel Response Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-and-higher-ed- parallel-response-to-title-ix-and-criminal-matters/

Trauma Informed Practices Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-trauma-informed-practices/

Accommodating Pregnant and Parenting Students: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-accommodating-pregnant-parenting-students/

Applying a Violence Risk Assessment in Title IX: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-applying-a-violence-risk-assessment-in-title-ix/

2022 Coordinator Refresher and Update Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-k-12-2022-title-ix-coordinator-refresher/

2022 Investigator/Decision-Maker Refresher and Update Course: https://icslawyer.com/posting-for-review-title-ix-investigator-decision-maker-refresher-and-update/

Programs

SCPS VPK KidZone and Beyond SCPS Great Start The Foundation Families In Need ePathways