Legislative Information

Home | District | School Board | Legislative Information

Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) is committed to providing our students with the best education possible in an effort to fully prepare them for a future of success. We work hand-in-hand with our local legislative delegation here in Seminole County to ensure the needs of our students, families, and teachers are met and that their voices are heard and advocated for.

2019 Legislative Priorities

Budget Priority: Responding to HVAC/Construction Workforce Demands

SCPS prepares students for both college and careers by operating robust Career & Technical Education programs that offer industry certification in high-demand, high-skill, and high-wage occupations. SCPS proposes to strengthen the regional talent pipeline for the construction industry by offering additional programs to high school juniors and seniors in specific trades such as HVAC, Electrical, and Welding. These programs will leverage the school district’s innovative scheduling and learning models to prepare self-selected groups of students who wish to work immediately after high school by either entering the workforce full-time or earning income while enrolled in college. In partnership with local employers, SCPS seeks state funding to upgrade facilities and procure equipment necessary to launch these new trades programs.


Sufficient state and local funds are critical to providing high quality education to Florida students. SCPS supports local control over the expenditure of locally approved revenue,* including the support to maximize capacity flexibility without a survey recommendation. Additionally, SCPS supports a common sense pricing metric (cost per square foot preferred) that is an accurate reflection of construction pricing in the region, adequately addresses unique campus/community needs, and tied to a construction specific pricing index.

*half cent sales surtax, one cent local government surtax, impact fees, voter approved millage, voted bond referendum, gifts/donations.

Flexibility with School Safety Dollars

The Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Act has provisions to enhance school safety and security. As part of the Act, a safe school allocation was created to provide funding to assist school districts in their compliance with s. 1006.07, with priority given to implementing the district’s school resource officer program. The Act has specific language that significantly restricted Seminole County School District from utilizing these allocated funds (“any funds appropriated shall be used exclusively for employing or contracting for school resource officers, which shall be in addition to the number of officers employed or contracted for in the 2017-18 fiscal year.”)

Seminole County initiated a proactive Safe School Campaign several years ago that placed a dedicated and trained school resource officer/deputy in each school. Seminole County is seeking flexibility in the spending of these safe school allocated funds to afford us the opportunity to help offset the reoccurring cost of existing school resource officers in our schools.

Seminole County Legislators

David Smith, Florida House District 28David Smith (Republican)

Florida House District 28

Legislative Address:
214 House Office Building
402 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300
Phone: 850.717.5028

Legislative Assistant: Kathy Johnson
District Secretary: Joseph Darcy

Email: david.smith@myfloridahouse.gov

Committee Assignments: Transportation & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee, Business & Professions Subcommittee, PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee, Children, Families & Seniors Subcommittee, Public Integrity & Ethics Committee.

Scott Plakon

Scott Plakon (Republican)

Florida House District 29

District Address:
Suite 222
1855 West State Road 434
Longwood, FL 32750-5071
Phone: 407.262.7423

Legislative Address:
1101 The Capitol
402 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300
Phone: 850.717.5029

Legislative Assistant: Morgan Fess
District Secretary: Eddie Thompson

Email: scott.plakon@myfloridahouse.gov

Committee Assignments: Health & Human Services Committee, Health Quality Subcommittee, Appropriations Committee, State Affairs Committee – Vice Chair, Oversight, Transparency & Public Management Subcommittee – Chair, Justice Appropriations Subcommittee.

Joy Goff-Marcil, Florida House District 30Joy Goff-Marcil (Democrat)

Florida House District 30

District Address:
Suite 120
630 South Maitland Avenue
Maitland, FL 32751-5624
(407) 623-1010

Legislative Address:
1301 The Capitol
402 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300
Phone: 850.717.50230

Legislative Assistant: Joseph Goldberg
District Secretary: Hailey Ahearn

Email: joy.goff-marcil@myfloridahouse.gov

Committee Assignments: PreK-12 Quality Subcommittee, Higher Education & Career Readiness Subcommittee, Health & Human Services Committee, Public Integrity & Ethics Committee.


David Simmons (Republican)

Florida Senate District 10

District Address:
220 Crown Oak Centre Drive
Longwood, FL 32750
Phone: 407.262.7578

Legislative Address:
400 Senate Office Building
404 South Monroe Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1300
Phone: 850.487.5009

Legislative Assistants: Valerie Clarke (Longwood), Carolyn Grzan (Tallahassee) and Diane Suddes (Longwood)

Email: simmons.david.web@flsenate.gov

Committee Assignments: Judiciary – Chair, Education, Community Affairs, Appropriations Subcommittee on Education, Rules, Appropriations


KidZone and Beyond
SCPS Great Start
The Foundation
Families In Need